top of page

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Unveil Their Dark and Divine: 'Wild God'.

In an enigmatic realm where shadows and melodies converge, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds resurface with a profound new creation. Mark your calendars for August 30th, as their 18th studio album, 'Wild God,' promises to be a transcendental journey through myth, emotion, and raw human experience. Today, they offer a tantalizing glimpse into this sonic odyssey with the release of 'Frogs,' the album's evocative second single.

The genesis of 'Wild God' began with the sprawling epic 'Frogs,' a track that carries the weight of ancient allegory within its opening lines. With his pen as incisive as ever, Nick Cave conjures a visceral image: “Ushering in the week he knelt down and crushed his brother’s head in with a bone/It’s my great privilege to walk you home.” This stark reference to Cain's primordial act of violence sets a potent and evocative tone for the entire album. Reflecting on 'Frogs,' Cave is fabled to muse that he sheer exuberance of a song like ‘Frogs’ puts a big f***ing smile on his face.

Across ten masterfully crafted tracks, the Bad Seeds dance deftly between tradition and innovation, weaving a sonic tapestry rich with imagery and emotional depth.

'Wild God' is the sound of a band rejuvenated, drawing fleetingly from their storied past only to catapult themselves into uncharted musical territories.

Produced by the formidable duo of Cave and Warren Ellis, with the album's mixing artfully handled by David Fridmann, the creative process for 'Wild God' commenced on the first day of 2023.

Recording sessions at the serene Miraval in Provence and the bustling Soundtree in London imbued the album with a diverse and dynamic spirit. Adding their distinctive touches, Colin Greenwood on bass and Luis Almau on nylon string and acoustic guitars contribute to the album’s rich sonic palette.

'Wild God' will be released via Bad Seed in collaboration with Play It Again Sam, available on streaming platforms, CD, and both standard and limited edition vinyl. The album’s tracklist unfolds like a journey through varied landscapes of sound and story:

  • Song of the Lake

  • Wild God

  • Frogs

  • Joy

  • Final Rescue Attempt

  • Conversion

  • Cinnamon Horses

  • Long Dark Night

  • O Wow O Wow (How Wonderful She Is)

  • As the Waters Cover the Sea

The current incarnation of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds features the iconic Nick Cave, alongside Thomas Wydler, Martyn Casey, Jim Sclavunos, Warren Ellis, and George Vjestica, each bringing their unique alchemy to this extraordinary project.

As we await the full revelation of 'Wild God,' the release of 'Frogs' provides a glimpse into the profound and poetic world that Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have crafted. Dive in, and let the depths of Cave's soul-stirring narratives and the band's unparalleled artistry carry you away.


Words by AW.


bottom of page